100 Songs 2012 - EP releases are go

Repeating the sucess of last year QUT's Independent Music Project, in conjunction with Sounds Like Brisbane, Mushroom Music Publishing, MGM, Music Sales, 4ZZZ, QMusic, Amrap, Scene Magazine and Arts QLD, has again succedded in recording 100 songs in 100 hours with over 70 of Brisbane’s best indie bands and songwriters.

After furious collating and mastering we are ready to release material from the project. On Thursday each week we will release two five track digital EPs on iTunes. In the meantime you can stream tracks from the project (and suss out your favourites) at our bandcamp site.

Currently all 100 songs are being listened to by a panel of experts who will shortlist their favourites. We'll then take the selected tracks back into the studio for a spit and polish before re-releasing them later in the year. The announcement of the shortlist will happen in the next few months. We're extremely lucky to have a wonderful panel of experts on board including Michael Taylor (Island Records Australia), Mark Callaghan (Music Sales), Sebastian Chase (MGM Distribution) and Bill Page (Mushroom Music).
Many long hours were spent in the studio by our wonderful team of engineers and producers including: Magoo (Powderfinger, Regurgitator, Pangea, Custard), Daniel Denholm (The Whitlams, Midnight Oil, Wendy Matthews), Adam Quaife (Lime Spiders, Masters Apprentices, Divinyls), Mike Howlett (Martha & The Muffins, Flock of Seagulls, OMD), Julian Knowles (Ed Keupper, Big Heavy Stuff, Even As We Speak), Phil Graham (Candy Harlots, Peter Wells, Art of Sleeping), Andy Arthurs (Deep Blue, Ten Tenors, The Waterboys), Donna Hewitt (My Cerulean Heart, Eminence Orchestra, William Barton) and Briony Luttrell (Tara Simmons). 

The acts this year are:

  1. Alex Bell 25. Gentlemen 49. Pigeon
  2. Andrew Lowden 26. Go Violets 50. Rick Fights
27. Halfway 51. Rohin Power
  4. Angharad Drake 28. Hannah Rosa 52. Screens
  5. Arcade Made 29. I Kick Clouds 53. Scribble Sound
  6. Aurora and Daisy 30. J.Francis 54. Seafarer
  7. Avaberée 31. Jack Paterson 55. SEALS
  8. Bandito Folk 32. Jackson James Smith           56. Sean Sennett
  9. Bec Plath 33. Jakarta Criers 57. StormChasers
10. Bertie Page Clinic 34. John Meyer 58. Susanna O'Leary
11. Big Strong Brute 35. Kelsie Rimmer 59. Tape/Off
12. Black Mustang 36. LeSuits 60. The Arachnids
13. Blaq Carrie 37. Major Leagues 61. The Better Mousetrap Treatment
14. BMXRAY 38. Marcy Prospects 62. The Captain's Daughters
15. Breaking Hart Benton           39. Mathew Borja 63. The Clues
16. Brianna Campbell 40. Michael Blundell 64. The Dirty Eastwoods
17. Daisie May 41. Michelle Xen 65. The Good Ship
18. Dear Anonymous 42. Mzaza 66. The 52 Pickups
19. District of East 43. Nel 67. Thomas Bryce
20. Drawn from Bees 44. Night Owl & The Early Birds 68. Turner
21. Flannelette 45. O' Little Sister 69. Warmwaters
22. Flinter 46. Our Ithaca Creek 70. WE ALL WANT TO
23. Foxes 47. Panda and the Bears 71. Winter Solstice
24. Fushia 48. Phil Hancock 72. Crown Birds

The project will focus local, national and international attention on Brisbane’s best independent music to help identify and promote new talent.

Songs from the event will be sent for broadcast consideration to 4ZZZ and other local and National radio stations. A compilation album of the best songs will be released internationally.

Event: 20-25th May 2012

Check out our Facebook page to stay up to date with all our news, or subscribe to our newsletter.

Contact Us: info@implabs.net